​​Ronald L. Thompson

Ronald L. Thompson

Ronald L. Thompson served on the Board of Directors of Chrysler Group LLC from 2009 to 2014.

Thompson is currently chairman of the board of trustees for Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association (TIAA), a for-profit life insurance company that serves the retirement and financial needs of faculty and employees of colleges and universities, hospitals, cultural institutions and other nonprofit organizations. He also serves on the board of trustees for Washington University in St. Louis (Missouri), the board of trustees of the Medical University of South Carolina Foundation, and the Advisory Board of Plymouth Venture Partners Fund.

Thompson was previously the Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of Midwest Stamping Company of Maumee, Ohio, a manufacturer of medium and heavy gauge metal components for the automotive market. He sold the company in late 2005.

Thompson has served on the boards of many different companies including Commerce Bank of St.Louis, GR Group (U.S.), Illinova Corporation, Interstate Bakeries Corporation, McDonnell Douglas Corporation, Midwest Stamping Company, Ralston Purina Company and Ryerson Tull, Inc. He was also a member of the board of directors of the National Association of Manufacturers.

His professional and academic background includes:

  • 2009 - 2014, Board of Directors, Chrysler Group LLC

  • 2008, Chairman, Board of Trustees, TIAA

  • 1993, CEO and Chairman, Midwest Stamping Company

  • 1980, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, GR Group

  • 1978, General Manager, Puget Sound Pet Supply Company

  • 1977, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Evaluation Technologies

He has also served on the faculties of Old Dominion University, Virginia State University and the University of Michigan.

Thompson holds a Ph.D. and Master of Science in Agricultural Economics from Michigan State University and a Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Michigan. He was born in Michigan.

Mr. Thompson was appointed Senior Non-Executive Director of Fiat Chrysler Automobiles N.V. on 12 October 2014.